Skip to content

Slide Background

Instrument of the year 2023

Mandolin composition competition with record international participation

291 works by 161 composers from all over the world were submitted to the 2023 composition competition jointly organized by the music publisher Edition 49 and the Siegburger Musikwerkstatt, which was dedicated to the instrument of the year, the mandolin. Competition entries came from countries including the USA, Canada, Germany, Israel, Switzerland, Ukraine, Russia, Italy, Estonia, Greece, Croatia, England, Belarus, Argentina, Colombia, Finland, Lebanon, Sweden, Brazil, Hong Kong, South Africa, Nairobi, Spain, Australia, Japan and South Korea.

A ten-member international jury selected the following winners:

1st prizes: David Jason Snow (USA), Jayme Vignoli Rodrigues de Moraes (Brazil)

2nd prizes: Gilad Hochmann (Germany), Emilio Teubal (USA), David Lipten (USA)

3rd prizes: Ashley Hoyer (USA), Barnaby Hollington (South Korea), Ivan Bozicevic (Croatia), James Kachulis (USA)

Special prizes go to Sten Aamer (Estonia, for the best audio recording) and Jonas Kerda (Germany, composer under 18).

The special prize of the Humperdinckfreunde Siegburg e. V. association goes to Michael Lyndee (Germany).

Further information:

Our sponsors

The competition is supported by, among others:

Max Reger Institute/Elsa Reger Foundation, Dr. Alexander Becker, Karlsruhe https://www.max-reger-

Siegburg composition competition, Engelbert Humperdinck music school 

edition 49 music publishing company, Karlsruhe

Ettlingen Mandolin Orchestra

Michael Reichenbach

Engelbert Humperdinck Foundation Siegburg